Friday 56 & #BookBeginnings: Juliet's Nurse

Two weeks before Lammas Eve, I go to bed believing myself fat and happy. You will think me a fool for being so deceived, at my age. But in our hearts, we all wish to be fooled. And so we make fools of ourselves.
- p. 3 (ARC, page may change)

For Friday 56:  
Knowing my husband offers more tempting treats than hers ever will, I say, "I heard once of a treatise that said children fed honey grow both sweet and rich." I keep my eyes on Tybalt and Juliet as I speak, though I mean the words for Lord Cappelleto.
- p. 56 (ARC, page may change)

Synopsis of Juliet's Nurse by Lois Leveen: An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare's "Romeo and Juliet"--told from the perspective of Juliet's nurse.

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis' darkest secrets. Those secrets--and the nurse's deep personal grief--erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, "Juliet's Nurse" gives voice to one of literature's most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona's wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare's play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona--the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, "Juliet's Nurse "is a rich prequel that reimagines the world's most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

15 comments:

  1. Oh my gosh, yes! The premise of the story is genius! It would certainly be an adventure to see the world of Romeo & Juliet from the nurse's POV. I've added it to my TBR; thanks for sharing!

    http://livingonborroweddays.com/2014/09/25/sparrows-reading-corner-book-beginnings-the-friday-56-edition-no-19/

    ReplyDelete
  2. Replies
    1. The cover is what first got me on this book. The new cover isn't as good-looking in my opinion ;)

      Delete
  3. I'm definitely interested in this one and I like the excerpts! I love when someone takes a classic from a different angle and do a really good job of it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A really intriguing premise and I honestly have to say that I liked this better than the original! It sure was more interesting!

      Delete
  4. This sounds like a movie that's out. I can't remember the name of it offhand, The Help? Don't we all like knowing other's secrets? ^_^
    sherry @ My Friday Memes

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not sure what movie you mean, but I can't disagree about wanting to know secrets :)

      Delete
  5. Sounds delightful! Thanks for sharing these snippets...and here's mine: “FRIENDSWOOD”

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm fascinated! What a great idea for a book. I'll read this one.
    Here's the link to my Friday post: Coulda Been a Cowboy.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Told from a different POV. This could be interesting. Though I remember the original story being hard for me to read.
    Here is my 56 - http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/09/26/the-friday-56-38-the-cinderella-theorem/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I remember Romeo and Juliet as required reading so I wasn't totally enamoured by it. This makes it sooo much more palatable, I highly recommend it!

      Delete
  8. Not sure I could get into this one... I'd have to read some reviews first.
    Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete